Sour New England

0142fa4bc1ce3d09b4bf8fd1214c02af1a4251b355

Somewhat recently I joined the family for a short holiday down to New Hampshire. Naturally, the most exciting prospect of this whole road trip was the opportunity to sample new-to-me beer from the East Coast of the US. On our first stop into a tourist info. centre I picked up a map of the breweries of Vermont so I could strategically let my car companions know when I needed to take a wee break from driving.

It has been a very long time since this West Coast gal has made it down to the New England states and I was blown away with the quantity and quality of craft beer – dare I say it felt almost west coast-like (high praise indeed!). Based on the map of Vermont alone I think I would need months, not days, to hit all the interesting looking beer hot spots. Undeterred I made the best with the time afforded me.

And I have to say I was beyond impressed with the beer I tried. It was a veritable paradise for sour enthusiasts like myself with not only sour beer options but whole breweries, literally, getting their funk on!

Here are a few highlights…

 

Rock Art Brewery, Vermont 

 

 

Schilling Beer Co., New Hampshire

 

 

Hermit Thrush Brewery, Vermont Green St. SIPA (Sour IPA)

015264ea646b95e6402bc70769afc6e649d30f9b14

 

Allagash Brewing Company, Maine Uncommon Crow

0199f9bb97da1473bd0c1bc736ed271905a078ec28

 

Chutters Candy Counter (world’s longest), New Hampshire Draft Beer Jelly Belly

01333c47113c3758fc02fd85bb073850d0699630ed

4 responses to “Sour New England

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I Think About Beer

& I Think About Cider - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

