A Pint fit for a Vulcan



I am sure by now everyone has heard of Leonard Nimoy’s passing. A relatively recent Trek convert, I actually saw Mr. Nimoy speak at a convention before I had even watched the original Star Trek series. I was impressed with his humour, warmth and obvious love for his fans. Stories of his cast mates hiding his bicycle during show tapings highlighted Mr. Nimoy’s good nature, and hearing him speak fondly of his friendship with William Shatner made him seem genuine and down-to-earth (no pun intended). Seeing Mr. Nimoy’s self-deferential cameos on Futurama and The Simpsons showed he could playfully poke fun at that blurry line between the man and the character he made famous. I’ll have to admit I was becoming a Spock fan.

After I returned home I embarked, with my ever-so-nerdy hubby, on my own little “trek” to figure out just why people loved the show so much. Much to my surprise I found it campy and fun with the Spock and Kirk bromance imparting a sense of heart. So in the end I joined the legions before me who have enjoyed the final frontier. 

When me husband shared the news with me that Mr. Nimoy had died he and I both felt someone unique was gone. That evening he and I shared our own form of remembrance. The hubby put on some Leonard Nimoy vinyl and I finally got around to opening my can of Vulcan Ale so I could raise a pint to his memory.

Vulcan Ale, brewed by Harvest Moon Brewing in honour of the 2013 centennial celebration of Vulcan Alberta, is an Irish red ale that pours a nice dark reddish chestnut colour with a light cream coloured head and a slightly sweet nose. Right out of the fridge this beer is pretty good though when you have to add the caveat ‘drink cold’ it does not really bode well. Pretty standard in flavour profile, malt forward, a bit of caramel sweetness and a slight toasted character. As it warmed this one seemed a little off to me but in fairness this beer may have been lingering in my fridge a little too long. Overall it was an okay beer, not bad per se but nothing I would add to my regular rotation more of a silly one-off appealing to my inner nerd.

In the end the man was far more memorable than the Vulcan Ale raised to his memory. 

Boldly go Mr. Nimoy, you are missed…









8 responses to “A Pint fit for a Vulcan

  • mikescraftbeer

    Is this version brewed at Harvest Moon Brewing also? The one I had was a bottle.

  • David Jenkins

    Hmmm, interesting to see you have a glass marked as a “Full Pint” @ 16oz. A true pint is 20 Fluid oz. (imperial).
    Perhaps you are aware of a campaign in BC by CAMRA to get pubs to participate in a program to advertise the true size of their serving glasses?
    Anyone serving a “pint” as 16oz is ripping the public off.

    • Sara

      I am aware of the FUSS campaign but truth be told I never really thought about it in connection with this particular glass it was just a glass I liked that I picked up from Full Sail Brewery. Nonetheless it is interesting to think about why a brewery would erroneously label their glassware?

    • mikescraftbeer

      If this is still being produced by an American brewery like it was when I tried it then a 16oz glass is a true pint. In the USA a 20oz glass is almost unheard of everywhere I have traveled.

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I Think About Beer

& I Think About Cider - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

