New Brew Friday Cameron’s Cream Ale

20140528-205058-75058552.jpg

Coming from Cameron’s Brewing Co. based in Oakville, Ontario this TGIF beer is a 5% Cream Ale that really brings back memories…

Very early in my beer drinking career I basically thought anything that was not Molson Canadian or Labatt Blue had to a craft beer, I said very early, so this led me to drinking my fair share of Shaftebury Cream Ales and Sleeman Cream Ales. Be nice we all started somewhere.

Cameron’s Cream Ale pours an uber clear dark gold colour with just a light ring of white head. There is a malty nose on the initial pour and as you drink there is a fruity taste that comes through. This beer is light in body, slightly carbonated with a creamy mouthfeel and a mildly bittered finish. I find this tends to give cream ales a somewhat unique flavour because they don’t really taste that much like any other single beer style. Part golden ale, part lager, (little) part UK bitter and all this comes together to become the hallmark of a cream ale, which by the way contains no cream of any variation.

3 responses to “New Brew Friday Cameron’s Cream Ale

  • terryhickey

    I also grew up on Shaftbury and Sleemens Cream Ale, I found this one to be a step up, nice, balanced and drinkable. R&B Vancouver Cream Ale is still my fav, this one is next and to be honest I wouldn’t turn away a Sleeman’s or Shaftbury Cream ale, just not my first choice anymore for a cream ale.

  • Sara

    I think it would be interesting to revisit some of the beers we started on to see how much (or if) our tastes have really changed. I drank my fair share of Hoegaarden as an undergrad but have not tried it since; it might be time to break out those ‘big ho’ glasses once again.

    • terryhickey

      Yes if you are drinking Hogaarden that would be the best glass to use! I have done this occasionally, had a Heineken the other day after a few and thought it was just ok and every now and then I’ll have a Kokanee at someone else’s house who only drinks that (and I forget to bring beer). For the most part I like it a lot less than I used to, but it’s still drinkable.

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I Think About Beer

& I Think About Cider - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

