Out of the Cellar: Dogfish Head World Wide Stout

Well I finally got around to actually taking a beer from my cellared stock and drinking it.

Granted, at face value, this does not really seem like it would take a lot of effort but for any fellow beer geeks that cellar you may empathize with my reluctance at opening a beer I have had in my care for years. I mean I went to all that effort of buying usually expensive, usually seasonal and usually scarce beers that in order to really get the best drinking experience needs to hang-out for months if not years. This means I would often go into my storage space look at the beer, maybe pick it up and re-read the label and then congratulate myself on the will power to not drink it right away.

This can lead to a bit of a vicious cycle when that nagging voice tells you, “just wait a little longer and it might get even better“.

Setting aside the obvious concern that I am either believing my beer is talking to me or that some tiny cicerone resides in my head, the hubby and I decided it was time to open our Dogfish Head World Wide Stout 2010, which we have fostered for some years now.

Dogfish Head World Wide Stout

From the brewery website:

Yes, this is the beer you’ve heard so much about!

Brewed with a ridiculous amount of barley, World Wide Stout is dark, roasty and complex. This Ageable Ale clocks in at 15-20% ABV and has a depth more in line with a fine port than with a can of cheap, mass-marketed beer.

World Wide debuted in the winter of 1999, and the staying power of this brew is undeniable. Like Fort and 120 Minute IPA, World Wide Stout only gets better with age. After some time in your beer cellar, the heat of the booze fades into the background and the port notes and roastiness take over.

World Wide goes great with (or as!) dessert. Share one with someone you love.

 

World Wide Stout pours deep dark black with a minimal amount of mocha coloured head, just a skim really. Huge molasses, coffee, chocolate and dried fruit nose with a big whiff of alcohol. Rich and dense in the mouth feel, full bodied, with slight carbonation and very warming though I have to say the cellaring really took away any harsh edges from the ridiculously high ABV. Flavours are pretty much everything you want in a big stout roasted grains, chocolate sweetness, strong notes of dried fruit and molasses and a coffee presence. This stout finishes strong with a nice roasted bitter taste. World Wide Stout is most definitely one to savour over an evening or to share with a friend (as the Dogfish people suggest).

Overall one of the best stouts on the market and a perfect candidate for long-term cellaring so if you haven’t started aging craft beer yet what the heck are you waiting for?

One response to “Out of the Cellar: Dogfish Head World Wide Stout

  • mikescraftbeer

    Bugger I never realized this beer was that type of beer. I always looked at it in Bellingham but not closely. I will not make the same mistake next time. Looks and sounds amazing! I love the massive, Rediculous stouts!

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I Think About Beer

& I Think About Cider - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

