These are a few of my Favourite Things

Raindrops on hop bines and whiskey-casked porters

Bright copper kettles and barley wine snifters

Brown paper packages enclosing 650’s

These are a few of my favorite things

 

Cream colored hefes and crisp golden pils

Fruit beers and Belgians with sweetness and fizz

Wild yeast strains imparting most sour tings

These are a few of my favorite things

 

Fat mugs of stout with hints of molasses

Brettanomyces lingers in the bottom of glasses

Bright white head and natural water from springs

These are a few of my favorite things

 

What you may ask inspired me to butcher a Christmas classic in this way?

It was a beer description so delicious that I literally (well okay not literally but close) could not wait to crack the bottle and give it a try. Belgian quad, coffee cherries, date, Lips of Faith, 10% …beer geek overload!

 

Cascara Quad

There are times that I do my best to restrain my beer purchases, when life offers up other things for me to spend my money on (cough, cough, wedding) so I do my diligence and only buy those beers I really, REALLY have to have like Cascara Quad from Lips of Faith.

When one of these ESB’s (extra special beers) make it home with me they are place on a figurative pedestal such that when I do try them they have some mighty high expectations to live up to.

 

So how did Cascara Quad do?

Cascara pours a cloudy reddish orange with lots of creamy off-white head on the initial pour. The head dies down after a bit into a thick skim with some nice lacing. There is quite a bit of yeastiness on the nose and as it warms you get some banana-like notes from the nose. It is very smooth mouthfeel wise with a bit of body but all in all not as big as I expected from a quad. Cascara is quite sweet at the front and a little tart on the finish. There is a real smokey almost leathery flavour that comes through as you sip. If I had to describe this beer in one word I would have to say young; by this I mean it feels like I should have let this one age a bit to really bring all the flavours into a better balance. I liked this beer, I drank this beer but I just did not love it they way I had hoped…

Lips of Faith Cascara Quad

One response to “These are a few of my Favourite Things

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I think about beer

& ithinkaboutcider.com - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

