Pumpkin Beer Five, Taste has Arrived

It’s day five and I am still drinking pumpkin beer; my mental state remains pretty good and I have been putting extensive training into preparing for my squash-atholon. I remain optimistic that I will be able to make it to the finish line. True, there have been a few set-backs and at times I feared I may never love pumpkin again but then along came Southern Tier and their Pumking, which restored my faith and re-affirmed my sense of purpose.

 

 

Southern Tier Brewing’s Pumking is an ale brewed with pumpkin. Pumking pours clear copper colour with a little bright white head; the head dissipates pretty quickly leaving a small amount of white lacing. There is a lot of pumpkin on the nose and a sweetness that reminds me of vanilla bean. The pumpkin flavour is prominent when you drink the ale with the vanilla notes tempering the earthiness of the squash. There is a decent amount of body to this beer and it has a subtle winter warmer quality imparted by the relatively high ABV of 8.6%. The finish is also quite earthy and a bit alcoholy.

 

Overall I think the gauntlet has been thrown down and I give Pumking nine candy corns out of a possible ten.

One response to “Pumpkin Beer Five, Taste has Arrived

  • Dom

    I am enjoying your pumpkin reviews, but had to chime in on this one. This is not only one of the best pumpkin beers I have had this year, it one of of the best beers in general I have had in a while. Excellent beer, worth every bit of 9 candy corns!

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I think about beer

& ithinkaboutcider.com - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

