Pumpkin Beer Two, A Brew I Thought I Knew

The second beer on my pumpkin quest is Steamworks Brewing Co. Pumpkin Ale.

Steamworks Pumpkin Ale is not new to me, in fact I have been known to espouse the wonders of this beer from time to time on this very blog BUT this is my first time trying it in the bottle so I will temper my bias when I get to the review segment of the show.

 

 

Steamworks Pumpkin Ale pours a deep amber red colour with good clarity. There is a decent amount of cream coloured head that lingers for sometime. Initially there is very little on the nose but as it warms a subtle spiciness comes through. Flavour wise this beer is akin to a good brown ale but the pumpkin element seems somewhat lacking. Raising the temperature helps but I find the pumpkin flavours far too mild. Oddly this beer gets a bit of banana on the nose as it warms up. It is pretty light bodied all in all and the finish has some maltiness to it but nothing lasting. I also tried Steamworks Pumpkin Ale in a growler this year and I prefer the draught form to the bottled version, though the bottle is really cool looking.

 

 

Overall I give this one six candy corns out of a possible ten.

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I think about beer

& ithinkaboutcider.com - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

