I Think I am in Love (Again)

 

I have been to Hair of the Dog and I think I just may have found my new favourite brewery. So now, and for the rest of time as we know it, all other beer will be mere pretenders to the throne forever cursed with the near impossible task of stealing away my heart.

Okay, okay I may be being a touch over dramatic here but seriously where have these guys been all my life? In fairness when they started brewing I was not exactly close to the drinking age and their beer is only available in the US (and mostly on tap for that matter) so I guess I can’t really blame Hair of the Dog for not finding me sooner.

But now that I have found them I totally want to hang-out 24/7 – oh yes I am that kind of needy, clingy craft beer geek.

 

 

Hair of the Dog is located on the other side of the bridges in Portland in an unassuming industrial area. Housed in what looks like an old garage replete with roll-up doors and tall ceilings, this tasting room looks pretty much like the majority of brew pubs I have visited. While the décor is not remarkable the beer sure is!

The majority of their beers are available on tap while Adam, Fred and Blue Dot are also bottled. One of my favourite things about their menu is the wide selection of Hair of the Dog bottled beers that have been cellared and/or casked. They even have a $75 Adam bottled in 1994.

 

 

Since I have had the pleasure of trying Adam and Fred, both amazing beers,  I concentrated on sampling the rest of their line-up, which included Little Dog, Greg, Lila, Blue Dot, Will and the Deschutes collaboration Collage (a blending of two Hair of the Dog and two Deschutes beers).

 

Little Dog – English mild ale. Stone fruit on the nose, cloudy and pale gold in colour, very light bodied and quaffable. Nice summer sessional.

Greg – Rose gold, tepid and sweet with fruity notes on the nose as well. Interesting but hard to describe flavour imparted by the squash, kind of clean and veggie like. Another all-round easy drinker.

Lila – Maibock. Amber to gold in colour with sweet caramel notes on the nose and a subtle hoppiness.

Blue Dot – Double IPA. Straw gold and hazy with lots of hop on the nose. Well-balanced with no single flavour dominating the others. Not a hop bomb but a very drinkable go-to IPA.

Will – Scottish Ale. Deep amber with tons of head. Malty flavour with a subtle smokiness to the finish.

Collage – Deep amber, very still with just a little head. Strong Belgian like with lots of spice and maltiness.

 

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I think about beer

& ithinkaboutcider.com - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

