Finding Epic Ales Outside the Box

Just got back from another road trip to Seattle and Portland with many tasting notes, photographs, swag and take-home beer to show for my efforts.

The first part of my trip required a stop-over in Seattle so I planned to visit Two Beers Brewing Co. and Epic Ales BUT sadly Friday afternoon I-5 traffic had other plans so I was only able to fit in one brew pub this time round : (

 

Usually I want to visit the breweries of beer I love, to see where magic happens, to sample the menus and to catch a glimpse of the person behind the bottle. At the same time I also have a strange predilection to visit the breweries of beer I did not like so much so I can push myself out of my comfort zone and give a brewer ample chance to win my heart.

This was the case with me and Epic Ales.

 

On paper, this brewery and I should have got on like a house on fire, quirky labels, odd-ball flavours, small batches (all the beer geek qualities I hold most dear); however, the first (and only) beer I tried did not show me much love –granted spearmint is not everyone’s first choice in a brew- so I was very hesitant to try another.

Despite this, Friday afternoon finds me, and my iphone, trying to figure out why the Google pin is pointing to a building with literally no signs depicting anything even remotely beer related. Walking up to the front door I see a piece of white paper telling me to head around the back of the building. My beer buddy opines that this may be an innovative mugging set-up but we go around back anyway – would they really want our Canadian money? Staring at the back of the building does not help a great deal. Two large barn doors are open a few inches so I go peer inside. Luckily I see a guy with a glass so I figure I am at the right place.

 

In what may be the most unassuming brewery I have ever been to  -picture a freezer, some giant kettles and 10 square feet- I got to meet Epic Ales brewer Cody Morris and sample three eclectic beers Simple Ale, Beet Down Lambic and Bog a sour Brown Ale brewed with shitake mushrooms.

 

 

The Simple Ale is pretty much what its name suggests straight-up ale erring on the hoppy side but not remarkable. The beet down is an interesting brew with a beautiful pink colour, and a bit of sweetness and a bit of tartness flavour wise. It was on the warm side, which did not really do much for the overall taste. The Bog was my favourite bringing a funky barnyard element to a full-bodied sour brown; reminded me of a flemish ale. Overall I wish all the samples were served at a cooler temperature since that coolness seems to bring forth a sharpness or crispness to lambic style beers.

 

While me and a handful of other beer nerds stand-around an old sink and a couple of stools, Cody explains that Epic Ales is moving into the sour beer niche focusing on barrel-aging and lambics, which seems like a great direction to take. I also learn that this current space is just a temporary stop-gap locale until renovations at the front end of the building are complete and the tasting room can re-open. This relocation is most definitely good for business but in the meantime the quirky space kinda suits this quirky brewery.

One response to “Finding Epic Ales Outside the Box

  • mikescraftbeer

    This was a great read! Thanks for posting it as it is always great to hear about more breweries. I am also excited to hear they are moving into Lambic beer as it seems to be hard to find in Vancouver.

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I think about beer

& ithinkaboutcider.com - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

