Drinking My Way Around BC

I’ll admit I am often very unpatriotic in my beer drinking habits because more often than not I tend to fall back on my south-of-the-border or across-the-pond go to breweries when I am looking for something to restock the fridge. In order to remedy this deficit in my beer experience, I made it one of my new “beers” resolutions to try more beers from the Great White North. After all British Columbia is quickly becoming a craft beer destination, and boasting over fifty microbreweries and brewpubs there is no shortage of local beers to choose from.

Hoyne Brewing Company Big Bock Ale: The Big Bock pours amber and with unbelievable clarity. Nice amount of white head that lingers. Sweet malt on the nose. Very clean to drink with a medium to light body and subtle strength that is in no way overpowering. I am loving the beers coming from the Island and kudos for the inspired label.

Mission Springs Brewing Company’s The Strongman Ale: The Strongman Ale is copper-gold in colour with nice clarity. A ton of stiff head that hangs around for the majority of the pint. Subtle bitter hop on the nose and in the flavour. Decent amount of malt adds some balance. Lives up to its namesake in strength but it is not overwhelming for the 650ml size – just enough to get that warmth in your belly. Smooth to drink and relatively light in body with a bit of stickiness.

Russell Brewing Nectar of the Gods: Nectar of the Gods is described as wheat wine ale. It pours and amber-copper colour and like the other beers, has impressive head retention. A fair amount of sediment. Fermented fruit, currant and earthy wood dominate the nose. Tons of oaky whiskey flavours imparted from the casking, almost barley wine like in character but not quite. Tannin aftertaste. Hard to discern the wheat beer qualities with all the complex and dominant flavours going on.

As I was writing this post I googled ‘map of BC breweries’ but did not come up with anything, which is surprising to me. I use my Washington and Oregon Beer Guides so often they are in shambles, and they have proven an invaluable resource, source of inspiration and all-around guiding star on numerous occasions.

In the meantime I will continue drinking (and blogging) my way around BC.

One response to “Drinking My Way Around BC

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I Think About Beer

& I Think About Cider - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

