Been There Drank That

So lately I have been looking at my fridge and feeling a sense of been there done that with regards to my beer selection. I have tried the standards (classic ales, lagers and pilsners), sampled the varieties of styles (lambics, barley wines, IPA’s, ESB’s, white ales, sours, stouts, porters), branched out to the one-offs (chocolate mint, oyster stout, cookie beer), sipped the spectrum of brewing methods (trappist, casked, cellared, draft) and come full circle to my beer roots (ahh Belgian Beer) but as any serious beer lover needs to ask now and then I wondered now what? Well aptly enough the answer came from the very fridge, which was causing my ennui; I saw a lonely little Fruli hanging out with the remainder of my winter stouts and this got me thinking why not try mixing some beers together?

Heavy strong Brooklyn Chocolate Stout meet the sweet pink fruity Fruli. So how do these two beers interact? Well there is a reason chocolate dipped strawberries are the dessert gold standard. The light sweetness of the Fruli cuts the heaviness of the stout making this combination immensely drinkable. The bite of the high alcohol Brooklyn stout is nullified by
strawberry when you take a sip and, in fact, the kick of the stout does not hit you until well after you have finished an entire glass. The colour and clarity of the stout remain after mixing and the head is pretty much negated. These two beers really bring out the best in each other. I find the Fruli too sweet on its own lacking in beer taste if you will -bordering on a cooler- while the Brooklyn is almost too strong for me unless it is a particularly nippy winter’s day and I am cuddled up in front of a roaring fireplace with a good book. This combination really makes the stout a viable summer option.

Overall I would give my new creation (Bruli? Frooklyn?) a 4.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I Think About Beer

& I Think About Cider - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

