Church-Key Brewing Co.

I have been intrigued by Church-Key Brewing ever since I saw a brief reference to this small scale brewery in a craft beer documentary.  The program showed a tiny red brick Church situated in rural Ontario, which housed an equally tiny ‘micro’ brewing operation.  Here small batches of carefully selected, uniquely flavoured ales were lovingly brewed in limited quantities for the most discerning and daring palates.

Now I’ll be the first to admit I tend to over-romanticize the small-scale brewer by envisioning a David versus Goliath struggle of the beer purist struggling against the tyrannical beer-opolies (you know who I mean); the proverbial ‘little guy’ who cares more about the craft than the cash. So during my trip to Ontario I planned to visit the facilities and find out for myself just what was brewing at Church-Key.

The Church-Key Brewing Co. is located in an old Methodist Church dating to 1878. I am told the brewer consulted with the good people of Campbellford to ensure there would be no objections to opening the brewery in a former Church. The brewing equipment is located inside the common area of the church where an old wooden staircase winds up to an office. Countless bottles lining the walls attest to the brewer’s interest in all things ale related while beer names like The Great Gatsbeer, Catch Her in the Rye, Riders of the Purple Loosestrife and The Scarlet Pilsner indicate a love of literature. The guide informs me little has been done to the original layout of the Church and indeed the fermenting tanks and kettles seem like an extension of the existing architecture -I am not even sure how they got in or could get back out. My father assures me, and the tour guide, even the original ceiling materials are still in place. The retail portion of the brewery is located in an addition adjacent to the Church, and the entire tour takes about five minutes to walk from one end to the other.

An interesting fact I learned is despite the obvious link to the physical Church the name Church-Key actually refers to various types of bottle and can openers some of which resemble a simple key.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 responses to “Church-Key Brewing Co.

  • verber webon

    Hello Miss Sara, Yor blog is so nicely. I think you are the Canadan? No? I know a beer Canadan called is ‘Molson Canadan.’ Is a nice beer. I like. Do you know this one beer also? I wish to say for you the photos on yor blog posting are broke. I cann’t see any.

  • sailor29

    Hi there Mr. Webon, I am indeed Canadian but alas I am not a Molson Canadian drinker eh? However since you are obviously new to our great country I would humbly suggest you branch out and sample some beers from our many fine craft breweries here in British Columbia and all across the nation. At the same time keep trying the big three since you need to explore your beer palate to find out what you like and do not like.
    BTW Pictures are in the process of being fixed : )

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I think about beer

& ithinkaboutcider.com - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

