Supplication: A Humble Entreaty

Okay so this is a bit of a retroactive review but as the cherry tree in my backyard is coming to fruition it got me thinking about some of the fabulous cherry beers I have sampled including the clear-cut stand-out Supplication.

This ale is strong and sour; it has been fermented and pours out a bubbly dark cherry colour –pretty much the colour of a piece of nicely aged cherry wood.  The beer has a Flemish ale quality with grape and cherry flavours subtly enhancing the experience.  However unlike some other sour ales this one is easy to drink as the sourness does not overwhelm the other tastes.  This beer truly has the complexity of a fine wine with different flavours emerging as you finish the bottle.

Here I wish I could be more detailed but as I mentioned earlier this review is retroactive and I don’t have any more bottles seeing it is only sold in the US =-(.  For those concerned with the aesthetics of their bottle I must admit that I bought this beer partly for the very interesting looking contraption? device?  tool? on the label; this consideration  was working against my better instincts of not paying thirteen dollars for one small bottle of brew.  All in all Supplication remains my undisputed favourite beer (in my mind at least, though rate beer also gave it a score of 100).

Out of a possible five I would give this beer a 5

Leave a Reply

West Coast Beer Geek

Reviewing Craft Beer, Beer Events, Beer Pairings & More

Ride & hike for the environment

raising awareness and funds for Green Teams of Canada

I think about beer

& ithinkaboutcider.com - Belgian Beer & European Cider

B.C. Beer Blog

The who, what, where, when, why, and how of B.C. craft beer

Freshfully Rad

Jesse Radonski's thoughts on videogames, food, craft beer, social media and more

The Great Canadian Beer Snob

Your guide to the wonderful world of beer!

Cambridge Park Beer Club

Coming together over craft beer.

Mike's Craft Beer

We review craft beer from around the world.

leapbeer

Mission : Leap Beer, 366 Beers in 366 Days

8bitbeerblog

Old School Gamers Checking out New School Beers

The Parting Glass

For the Love of Great Beer

